‘Booksmart’ Stars Win Big at Hollywood Critics Association Awards 2020!

booksmart awards
'Booksmart' Stars Win Big at Hollywood Critics Association Awards 2020!

Olivia Wilde accepts one of her several awards at the 2020 Hollywood Critics’ Association Awards on Thursday night (January 9) at Taglyan Complex in Los Angeles.

Booksmart was a big winner at the event with Olivia taking home Best Female Director, the movie tying for Best Comedy/Musical and Kaitlyn Dever winning Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under. Olivia was also honored with the Trailblazer Award!

Also in attendance at the event were Jojo Rabbit‘s Taika Waititi (winner of Best Adapted Screenplay), Honey Boy director Alma Har’el (winner of Best First Feature) with the film’s actor Byron Bowers, The Farewell‘s Shuzhen Zhao, Parasite director Bong Joon-ho (winner of Best Original Screenplay), The Peanut Butter Falcon‘s Zack Gottsagen (winner of the Newcomer Award), and Richard Jewell‘s Paul Walter Hauser (winner of the Game Changer Award).

The “Next Generation of Hollywood” was honored at the event and some of the recipients who attended included Kaitlyn, Kelvin Harrison Jr., Geraldine Viswanathan, Brooklynn Prince, Millicent Simmonds, Mckenna Grace, Jack Dylan Grazer, and Thomasin McKenzie.

FYI: Thomasin is wearing a Markarian dress.

Click inside for the full winners list…

See the full winners list below!

Best Picture – “1917″

Best Actor – Joaquin Phoenix, “Joker”

Best Actress – Lupita Nyong’o, “Us”

Best Supporting Actor – Joe Pesci, “The Irishman”

Best Supporting Actress – Jennifer Lopez, “Hustlers”

Best Adapted Screenplay – Taika Waititi, “Jojo Rabbit”

Best Original Screenplay – Han Jin-won and Bong Joon Ho, “Parasite”

Best Male Director – Noah Baumbach, “Marriage Story”

Best Female Director – Olivia Wilde, “Booksmart”

Best Performance by an Actor 23 and Under – Noah Jupe, “Honey Boy”

Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under – Kaitlyn Dever, “Booksmart”

Breakthrough Performance Actor – Kelvin Harrison Jr., “Waves”

Breakthrough Performance Actress – Jessie Buckley, “Wild Rose”

Best Cast Ensemble – “Knives Out”

Best First Feature – “Honey Boy”

Best Independent Film (Tie) – “The Farewell” & “Waves”

Best Action/War Film – “1917”

Best Animated Film – “Toy Story 4”

Best Blockbuster – “Avengers: Endgame”

Best Comedy/Musical (Tie) – “Rocketman” & “Booksmart”

Best Documentary – “Apollo 11”

Best Foreign Language Film – “Parasite”

Best Horror – “Us”

Best Animated or VFX Performance – Rosa Salazar, “Alita: Battle Angel”

Best Cinematography – Roger Deakins, “1917”

Best Costume Design – Julian Day, “Rocketman”

Best Editing – Lee Smith, “1917”

Best Hair and Makeup – Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan, and Vivian Baker, “Bombshell”

Best Original Song – “Glasgow,” “Wild Rose”

Best Score – Hildur Guðnadóttir, “Joker”

Best Stunt Work – “John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum”

Best Visual Effects – Dan Deleeuw, Matt Aitken, Russell Earl, and Dan Sudick “Avengers: Endgame”

2020 Hollywood Critics Association Honorary Awards

Actor Achievement Award – Anton Yelchin (posthumously)

Filmmaker Achievement Award – Bong Joon Ho

Artisans Achievement Award – Ruth E. Carter

Game Changer Award – Paul Walter Hauser

Star on the Rise – Taylor Russell

Newcomer – Zack Gottsagen

Trailblazer – Olivia Wilde

End of a Decade Awards Recipients

Actor of the Decade – Adam Driver

Actress of the Decade – Kristen Stewart

Director of the Decade – Denis Villeneuve

Producer of the Decade – Daniela Taplin Lundberg

Next Generation of Hollywood – Kelvin Harrison Jr., Geraldine Viswanathan, Brooklynn Prince, Millicent Simmonds, Mckenna Grace, Jack Dylan Grazer, Thomasin McKenzie, Zoey Deutch, Noah Jupe, Kaitlyn Dever, Lana Condor, and Shahadi Wright Joseph

This content was originally published here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *